Sevilla make history with 4th Europa title

Sevilla's forward (centre) Bacca celebrates next team mates their Europa League trophy win on an open-top bus in the Andalusian capital of Seville, southern Spain

WARSAW- Sevilla retained their Europa League title and lifted the trophy for a record fourth time amid a cascade of tears and ticker tape, after securing a 3-2 victory over Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk in Wednesday's final.

Carlos Bacca claimed the plaudits with a superb double strike, including a late winner to decide a pulsating clash that began at a hair-raising pace with four goals in the first half.

It was an energetic end-to-end battle for most of the match.

Dnipro had grabbed an early lead from Nikola Kalinic, before Sevilla hit back with goals by Grzegorz Krychowiak and Bacca.

A free kick from Dnipro captain Ruslan Rotan made it 2-2 just before the break and it looked like the Ukrainian side, playing in their first European final, might cause a stunning upset.

But Bacca settled the game for Sevilla and secured the trophy - and a precious Champions League place handed to the winners for the first time, as they go into the group stage.

Colombia striker Bacca, substituted before the end, broke down on the bench with the emotion of it all as the final whistle sounded and the celebrations began.

Sevilla are now the undisputed kings of the competition, having also won it twice in its former guise as the Uefa Cup in 2006 and 2007, and have moved ahead of Juventus, Liverpool and Inter Milan to stand alone with most wins on the honours board.

More about
Europa League