Singapore to host World Series of Darts in Aug

SINGAPORE - Singapore will play host to the fourth World Series of Darts event with international top players at the Singapore Indoor Stadium on Aug 15 and 16, 2014.

The Professional Darts Corporation (PDC) announced that the competition will see world champions such as Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor pitting their darting skills against other top players including Simon Whitlock, Peter Wright, Dave Chisnall and James Wade.

Premier League Darts champion of 2014 Raymond van Barneveld and former World Championship finalist Andy Hamilton will be Wildcards to complete the eight-player field in Singapore, said PDC.

PDC Chairman Barry Hearn said "The World Series of Darts concept enjoyed a memorable start in 2013 in Dubai and Sydney and was another huge success last month when Michael van Gerwen won a second successive title in Dubai."

"It gives me great pleasure to confirm the ongoing expansion of the World Series of Darts to include the Singapore Darts Masters," Mr Hearn added.

The Singapore Darts Masters is being staged by Shield Sports Asia in association with Radar Sport & Entertainment, who also organised the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters in May.