12 Cabinet members elected into PAP leadership

SINGAPORE - Cadres of the People's Action Party (PAP) has elected 12 members of the Cabinet into its highest decision-making body, the Central Executive Committee.

The 12 elected include Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, who is party secretary-general, chairman Khaw Boon Wan, vice-chairman Yaacob Ibrahim, first and second assistant secretary-generals Teo Chee Hean and Tharman Shanmugaratnam, treasurer Lim Swee Say, assistant treasurer K Shanmugam, The Straits Times reported.

Mr Chan Chun Sing, Ms Grace Fu, Mr Gan Kim Yong, Mr Heng Swee Keat and Mr Tan Chuan-Jin round up the list of 12.

Mdm Halimah Yacob and Mr Ng Eng Hen were co-opted into the committee after getting the 13th- and 14th-highest votes, the English daily reported.

The list was also posted on the party's Facebook page.

The results of this morning's election were announced by Mr Khaw at the PAP60 Party Conference, held at the Singapore Expo, Channel NewsAsia reported.

It said that the conference was attended by 6,000 people, with Mr Darryl David and MP Tin Pei Ling as emcees.