12 new Downtown Line stations to open in Dec

SINGAPORE - Commuters can look forward to 12 new Downtown Line stations that will open on Dec 27, and enjoy free rides for a limited period.

The free travel is available on the entire Downtown Line stations for a limited period after the new stations open, according to Channel NewsAsia (CNA).

CNA said the new Downtown Line stations are: Bukit Panjang, Cashew, Hillview, Beauty World, King Albert Park, Sixth Avenue, Tan Kah Kee, Botanic Gardens, Stevens, Newton, Little India and Rochor.

Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew announced the official opening date during his visit the Gali Batu depot in Woodlands on Thursday (Aug 6).

He said the free rides will be available on DTL1 and DTL2 for a short period to encourage commuters "to try out the new line and familiarise themselves with the stations".

"I encourage residents from Bukit Panjang and Bukit Timah to take the trains to the city to enjoy the festive lights, do some post-Christmas shopping or attend the New Year Countdown," Mr Lui added.

CNA reported that the full Downtown Line is expected to open in 2017.

The commencement of the 12 new stations in December will also mark the start of operations of the Gali Batu depot.

The depot is meant to be the main train stabling and maintenance facility for the line, and also houses the line's Operation Control Centre, CNA added.