13 stations along N-S and E-W lines will begin Sunday services at 7am

PHOTO: The Straits Times

SINGAPORE - Train services on Sundays at 13 MRT stations along the North-South and East-West lines will begin at 7am, starting from this Sunday (June 5).

The stations affected by the new schedule till Dec 18 are:

- Joo Koon to Queenstown on the East-West Line
- Jurong East to Bukit Gombak on the North-South Line

It will be the first time that MRT trains will begin running later on a Sunday.

Train operator SMRT said this will enable its engineering staff more time to work on renewal work and maintenance projects over a six-month period.

Commuters are advised to consider other transport options should they need to travel before 7am. They can hop onto public buses to get to other train stations or trains on the Circle Line and Downtown Line for travel towards the city centre.

A new paid bus service will ply the route from Joo Koon station to Bukit Gombak station via Jurong East station in both directions on Sundays.

The service will be available at 10-minute intervals from 5.30am to 7am. Fares will be commensurate with the train distance covered.

Commuters who need to travel between Jurong East and Queenstown stations before 7am can take the existing bus services running along that stretch.