Competition Commission of Singapore to get new chairman next year

Mr Aubeck Kam Tse Tsuen will be the new Chairman of the Competition Commission of Singapore from Jan 1, 2015.

SINGAPORE - The Competition Commission of Singapore (CCS) will have a new board chairman from Jan 1, 2015, the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) announced today.

In a press statement today, MTI said that Ministry of Communications and Information Permanent Secretary Mr Aubeck Kam will replace Mr Lam Chuan Leong, who is stepping down after 10 years at the helm.

Mr Chee Hong Tat, Second Permanent Secretary for MTI, said: "Under Mr Lam's able leadership, CCS has grown into a well-regarded competition authority. MTI appreciates his contributions over the last 10 years to enhance efficient market conduct and promote competition in Singapore."

He added that Mr Kam's experience in the public sector would be an asset to CCS.

Two new CCS board members were also appointed. They are Mr Tan Kok Kiong, Andrew, Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore Chief Executive and Ms Chionh Sze Chyi, Mavis, Chief Prosecutor at the Attorney-General's Chambers.

Meanwhile, CCS board member Mr Aedit Abdullah has resigned after he was appointed as a Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court.

MTI also said that it has re-appointed Dr Loo Choon Yong as Chairman of JTC Corporation (JTC).

In addition, former CapitaLand Limited Group Deputy Chief Executive Officer Mr Oliver Lim, HSBC Singapore CEO Mr Guy Harvey-Samuel and URA CEO Mr Ng Lang were appointed as new JTC board members.

Four members have also been re-appointed to the board of the Singapore Tourism Bard (STB).

They are Mr Mike Barclay, Sentosa Development Corporation CEO, Mrs Deborah Ong, Assurance Partner and Risk & Quality Leader at PricewaterhouseCoopers, Singapore, Ms Jessica Tan, Microsoft Operations Pte Ltd Managing Director, and Ms Christina Ong, Partner at Allen & Gledhill LPP.