Free early morning MRT rides to be extended to 2017

Free early morning MRT rides to be extended to 2017

SINGAPORE - Free early morning train rides into the city have been extended - for a third time - to June 30, 2017.

Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo made the announcement on Thursday (June 23) after giving an update on the scheme, which was introduced by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) in 2013.

About 65,000 commuters use the Free Pre-Peak Travel scheme daily, Mrs Teo said at Travel Smart Day 2016 held at Asia Square.

There has been a sustained reduction of 7 to 8 per cent in the number of commuters during the morning peak period, according to LTA.

The scheme was initially launched in June 2013 as a year-long trial but was extended twice and was due to end on June 30 this year.

Under the programme, commuters who end their journey before 7.45am on weekdays at 18 designated MRT stations get to ride for free.

Those who exit at these 18 stations between 7.45am and 8am get a discount of up to $0.50 off their train fare.

The 18 designated stations are Bayfront, Bras Basah, Bugis, Chinatown, City Hall, Clarke Quay, Dhoby Ghaut, Downtown, Esplanade, Lavender, Marina Bay, Orchard, Outram Park, Promenade, Raffles Place, Somerset, Tanjong Pagar and Telok Ayer.

This website is best viewed using the latest versions of web browsers.