Hawazi Daipi, Mah Bow Tan and Irene Ng to step down ahead of GE

SINGAPORE - Three People's Action Party MPs will be stepping down ahead of the next General Election.

Members of Parliament (MPs) for Tampines GRC Mr Mah Bow Tan and Ms Irene Ng, and MP for Sembawang GRC Mr Hawazi Daipi announced their exits today.

According to Channel NewsAsia, Mr Hawazi Daipi's retirement was announced by fellow MP and National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan during a National Day dinner celebration organised by Marsiling constituency.

Mr Mah Bow Tan, who was the Minister for National Development from 1999 to 2011, made his announcement to residents during a National Day dinner at Tampines East.

In a separate announcement, Ms Irene Ng, who has served for three terms and is MP for the Tampines Changkat ward, revealed at a community event that she had asked PM Lee Hsien Loong last year if she could step down, according to local media reports.

She also said it was a difficult decision to make, but she wanted to make way for new blood.

Ms Ng said she wanted to inform the residents in Tampines personally.

Her fellow Tampines GRC MP Education Minister Heng Swee Keat said the Ms Ng had started many programmes for the elderly and disadvantaged, and hoped she will continue to contribute to Singapore in the future.