NSP enters the fray in MacPherson SMC, setting stage for potential 3-cornered fight

Mr Steve Chia, National Solidarity Party (NSP) candidate for the Pioneer SMC, talking to resident during his fourth general election campaign trail on 3 May 2011. NSP will field its treasurer in MacPherson SMC for the upcoming General Election.
PHOTO: The Straits Times

SINGAPORE - The National Solidarity Party (NSP) will be contesting in MacPherson SMC, setting up a potential three-cornered fight with the People's Action Party (PAP) and the Workers' Party (WP).

NSP will field its current treasurer Mr Steve Chia in MacPherson SMC, pitting him against the PAP's Tin Pei Ling, 31. WP has not revealed its candidate for MacPherson SMC.

NSP said in a statement Wednesday that its leaders have received feedback and pledges of support from many residents in Marine Parade and MacPherson, where the party had 43 per cent of the votes during the 2011 General Election.

MacPherson SMC has been carved out from Marine Parade GRC in the latest electoral boundaries review, while Joo Chiat SMC has been absorbed into Marine Parade GRC.

"Although our previous statement on 10 August signalled our intent to withdraw from contesting in both Marine Parade GRC and MacPherson SMC, the NSP CEC has deliberated on this at length and decided to strike a balance between avoiding unnecessary conflict and keeping faith with our supporters," NSP said.

NSP further explained that it decided to give up contesting in Marine Parade because Joo Chiat SMC was contested by the WP in 2011. Then, WP's Yee Jeng Jong lost to PAP's Charles Chong by a mere 388 votes.

"As for MacPherson, the CEC (Central Executive Committee) strongly supports the decision to proceed with contesting in the SMC where considerable outreach has been done prior to the 2011 General Elections," NSP added.

Ms Hazel Poa, who resigned today as NSP's Secretary-General due to its decision to contest in MacPherson SMC, revealed that Mr Chia had requested to contest on Monday (Aug 17).

The 44-year-old treasurer for NSP was previously the party's candidate for the Pioneer SMC, where he was defeated by the PAP's Cedric Foo, garnering 39.27 per cent of the votes.