PAP introduces 3 new candidates for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

MPs of Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC bowed in appreciation to Mr Wong Kan Seng (fourth from left, seated) for his years of service.
PHOTO: Twitter/People's Action Party

The People's Action Party (PAP) has introduced three new candidates for the Bishan-Toa Payoh Group Representation Constituency (GRC) for the upcoming General Election, local media reported.

At a press conference held at a coffeeshop at Toa Payoh Central on Wednesday morning, Defence Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen announced that Mr Chee Hong Tat, 41, Mr Chong Kee Hiong, 49, and Mr Saktiandi Supaat, 42, will join the five-member GRC.

The new candidates will replace retiring MPs Mr Hri Kumar Nair, Mr Zainudin Nordin and Mr Wong Kan Seng, and join existing Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC members Dr Ng and Mrs Josephine Teo.

According to Channel NewsAsia, Dr Ng said: "It reflects our message that this is what elections are about. This is as heartland as heartland goes. Toa Payoh is the oldest estate."

"We wanted to do (this unveiling) in the heartlands to put across the message that elections are about choosing MPs who can take care of your town."

On the party's Twitter account, Mr Saktiandi Supaat said: "I'd continue to raise municipal issues on a national level," while Mr Chong Kee Hiong said: "I hope to continue serving the residents of Bishan East."

PAP said on Monday that it would unveil its line-up of candidates over the next two weeks, My Paper reported.

This move breaks the party's tradition of introducing candidates through a senior member of its executive committee at the PAP's headquarters.