PAP unveils 2 new candidates for Ang Mo Kio GRC

The People's Action Party (PAP) has unveiled two new candidates for Ang Mo Kio Group Representation Constituency (GRC) to contest the next General Election, local media reported.

On Saturday morning, PAP introduced Mr Darryl David, 44, and Dr Koh Poh Koon, 43, at a press conference held at PAP Punggol South Branch, according to Channel NewsAsia.

Mr Gan Thiam Poh will also join the team as his Punggol South ward was moved to Ang Mo Kio GRC after new election boundaries were announced on July 24.

The new additions will replace veteran MPs Mr Inderjit Singh, Mr Yeo Guat Kwang, Mr Seng Han Thong and join incumbent members Mr Ang Hin Kee and Dr Intan Azura Mokhtar in the six-member GRC led by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

PM Lee said: "In the PAP team we are renewing our slate and present new candidates, and reinforcing our team with potential office holders to strengthen the leadership, to form the next generation of leaders that will take over me and my team."

He added: "You're voting to choose the next government. You're voting to choose the party and team whom you can trust to safeguard your future."

Dr Koh, a colorectal surgeon, had contested in the 2013 Punggol East by-election which was won by Lee Li Lian from the Workers' Party.

During his introduction, Dr Koh said: "Serving in different areas, meeting different people, gives me different perspectives on the issues faced by different people. I believe that what matters most is not where we are serving but serving with our heart, to the best of our ability."

Meanwhile, Mr David, Temasek Polytechnic's School of Design deputy director, was a former media personality who was well-known for hosting The Pyramid Game in the 1990s.

He highlighted the importance of connecting with the senior citizens as he recounted conversing in the Hokkien dialect with an elderly resident.

PAP also announced that Minister of State for Health Dr Lam Pin Min will defend his seat in the Sengkang West Single Member Constituency (SMC), while grassroots leader Lee Hong Chuang will contest the Hougang SMC in the coming election.