Paying your last respects at Parliament House

Lee Kuan Yew's body lies in state at Parliament House until Saturday for the public to pay their last respects.

Here is a guide on the lying-in-state:

Can anyone pay their respects?

Yes, although children should be accompanied by adults.

When should I go?

Visiting hours will be 24 hours daily from now until 8pm on Saturday .

Is there a dress code? How should I behave?

There is no dress code or code of conduct. However, the public is advised to "be mindful of the solemnity and decorum of the occasion, both in their dressing and bearing", according to the official Remembering Lee Kuan Yew Facebook page.

Where do I enter?

Instead of the usual public entrance on Parliament Place, visitors should enter from the promenade along the Singapore River.

Visitors will be ushered to the Hall of Parliament House, where Mr Lee's body lies.

For queries on the wake, funeral service and traffic arrangements, call the 24-hour hotline on 6336-1166.


This article by The Straits Times was published in MyPaper, a free, bilingual newspaper published by Singapore Press Holdings.

Chief of Army, Major-General Perry Lim, will lead officers in his Service

The traditional mounting of the vigil guards during the lying in state period symbolises the highest form of respect accorded to the deceased. It comprises four uniformed officers each standing at a corner of the casket with his head bowed, back turned away and ceremonial sword inverted. The vigil guards will be led by a senior officer, who will stand at the head of the casket facing inwards.

Today, the Chief of Army (COA), Major-General Perry Lim, will lead officers in his Service in performing the vigil guard duties.

Friends and former colleagues of the late Mr Lee will also hold vigil in his memory during the lying in state at Parliament House. They will be joined by representatives from various branches of government, trade unions, grassroots organisations, students and other groups, a reflection of his extensive and diverse contributions to nation-building.

Each vigil group, comprising about 20 persons, will hold vigil for 30 minutes. There will be a break of either 30 minutes or an hour between the vigil groups. In addition, groups of public servants, students and educators will pay their respects at the lying in state.

Schedule of vigil groups

1000 - 1030 Members of Parliament

Halimah Yacob
S Iswaran
Lawrence Wong
Dr Mohamad Maliki Bin Osman
Teo Ser Luck
Low Yen Ling
Lim Biow Chuan
Christopher De Souza
Dr Lily Neo
Ellen Lee
Dr Intan Azura Binte Mokhtar
Seng Han Thong
Alex Yam Ziming
Vikram Nair
Zainudin Nordin
Low Thia Khiang
Lina Chiam
K Karthikeyan
Patrick Tay Teck Guan

1130 - 1200 Singapore Armed Forces

BG Chia Choon Hoong
MAJ/ME5 Look Kang Wei
2WO Muhammad Hasyim Bin Hassan
LTC Chan Choon Meng
CWO Devendran
CPT Ouyang Zhiyuan, Bryan
ME6 Chan Kim Hoong
ME6 Ong Keng Thye
MAJ Yiang Wai Han
MAJ James Neo Kian Chuan
CPT Wong Wei Yong
ME3 Ng Hock Soon Andy
WO/ME3 Chua Tze How
COL Woon Tai Shin
LTC Lee Boon Chuan
MAJ Fathianathan Michael
MAJ Chai Chian Jong
ME4 Low Yong Yee Eugene
1WO Ong Yew Beng
2WO Lim Hoo Cheng

1400 - 1430 Home Team

SUPT (1A) Tan Sock Koon Geraldine
INSP (2) Lee Hock Leong
SUPT (1A) Yap Ker Sim, Aileen
INSP(2) Ang Jeffrey
ASP Kalaivanan s/o Pannerchilvam
ASP Yong Chung Ping
MAJ(1) Mohamed Firoz Bin Ramjan
CPT(2) Neo Jia Qi
SUPT(1) Peck Tiang Hock
SUPT(1A) Rafidah Bte Suparman
SUPT Rossida Bte Dolah
SUPT Lim Sze-Yuk
SUPT Rockey Francisco Junior
MX10 Wong Mum Thong
MSO4 Chan Chunmu
MX12 Tan Jency
CR9 Sugumaran s/o C M Balakrishna Pillai
CR9 He Shujia
M3 (MX11) Puah Ping Hui
M3 (MX11) Lee Chor Teng Steven

1530 - 1600 People's Association

Lim Huan Chiang, JP, BBM(L), PB
Lim Hwee Sin, BBM
Koh Sia Eng, Judy, BBM
Ho Cheng Pheng, PBM
Govindasamy Balachandran, BBM
Seah Kim Swee, BBM
Koh Bee Kee
Hanifar Bin Said, PBM
Sonny Tan Ngee Hoe, BBM
Lee Hong Chuang, BBM
Yasmin Nachiar
May Low Lay Leow
Alvin Yeo Han Yong
Parumanathevar Tamilarasan
Lee Meow Eng
Kelvin Lai
Lee Tee Choon, BBM
Malik B Maksudi, PBM
Lua Soon Joo, Derek
Mong Kiew Hun

1700 - 1730 Tanjong Pagar grassroots

Michael Anjelious Leo Francis
Ong Chye Meng
Mohamed Yacob Bin Kassim
Shelby Tisharmini Doshi
Law Sock Ying
Tan Puay Ching
Chua Kok Leong
Ratna Devy Binte Omar
Tee Kok Soon
Quek Chat Swen
Ang Kah Eng, Kelvin
Poondy Radhakrishnan
Low Bee Tin @ Lau Bee Tin, Linda
Loo Wai Kheong
Tan Say Hwa
Paul Sim
Lee Wee Leong, Eugene
Tay Hang Kain, Jason
Ho Wei Hao
Lim Kian Peng

1830 - 1900 Singapore Civil Service

Peter Ong
Yong Ying-I
Lim Siong Guan
Eddie Teo
Ravi Menon
Tan Ching Yee
V K Rajah
Ong Yen Her
Janadas Devan
Benjamin Ong
Loh Ngai Seng
Ang Bee Lian
Wong Hong Kuan
Teo Hee Lian
Chandrasekar s/o Palanisamy
Rahayu Buang
Leong Kai Seng
Louisa Jean Lim
Roswati Binte Mustadi
Rajendren s/o Ramaswamy

1930 - 2000 People's Action Party

Lim Ser Chai
Yak Jun Wei, Joshua
Foo Yang Chiang, Justin
Lee Hong Chuan
Kahar Hassan
Wong Gue Kuew, Heidi
Ng Poh Meng
K Muralidharan Pillai
Goh Chee Koh
Yee Chia Hsing
Sonny Tan
Ho Thiam Teng
William Kwek Kwee Hua
Yeo Cheng San, Benny
Ivan Khua
Andrew Mak
Lily Heng
Ng Guat, Angie
Kam Teck Kwong
Chai Chon Fah