Search for the next Heritage Town is on

Queenstown, Tiong Bahru and Geylang Serai are among several towns here hoping to take home the 2014 Heritage Town Award.

Get the full story from The Straits Times.

Call for nominations for Singapore's 2nd heritage town

SINGAPORE - The National Heritage Board (NHB) has launched an open call for nominations for the Heritage Town Award.

This is the second Heritage Town Award nomination call, after the inaugural award was given to Joo Chiat in 2011.

The NHB Heritage Town Award was initiated in late 2010 to recognise and promote ownership of heritage by local communities. The award starts with a national call for submission.

The applications are then assessed on the historical significance and vision of their towns, supported with past activities and a proposed calendar of activities that promotes heritage.

The winning submission will receive the title of "Heritage Town" for the period of two years, as well as funding of $100,000 to organise heritage-related activities for its residents.

Said Mr Tan Boon Hui, Group Director of Programmes at NHB: "NHB has been preserving and celebrating our shared heritage through various community-supported initiatives, so as to encourage the people to take part in cherishing our past together. We are happy to announce the nomination call for Singapore's second Heritage Town and hope that through this, our diverse communities can proactively and collectively take ownership of the invaluable cultural heritage of their local spaces and places."

Citizens' Consultative Committees (CCC) are to apply on behalf of their towns. Keen community and interest groups are to submit their entries via the proposed heritage town's CCC.

After the open call is closed in March 2014, an assessment and evaluation will be carried out by an external jury, before the successful nominee is notified in the middle of 2014.

The applicants will be assessed according to the following criteria: proposed vision for their town; track record of heritage activities; proposed heritage activities for the coming year; and innovation of the proposed activities.

The Heritage Town Award will then be presented to the CCC of the winning town.