Singapore appoints High Commissioners to South Africa and Sri Lanka

SINGAPORE - Mr Chua Thai Keong and Mr S Chandra Das have been appointed as Singapore's High Commissioner to South Africa and Non-Resident High Commissioner to Sri Lanka respectively, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) said in a statement today.

Mr Chua will assume his post from Jun 1, 2015. He joined MFAA in 1986 and has served as Singapore's Ambassador to South Korea and Mongolia from Sep 2006 to Dec 2010, and Non-Resident Ambassador to Chile from Apr 2014 to May 2015.

He was also previously Director (Northeast Asia) in MFA, and served as Global Government Relations Special Adviser (Asia Pacific) in Shell International.

Mr S Chandra Das was Singapore's Ambassador to Turkey for nine years from 2006 to 2015. He also previously served as Trade Representative to the Soviet Union from 1970 to 1972.

Mr Das also holds a number of directorship in various companies, and was a Member of Parliament representing the Chong Boon Single Member Constituency and the Cheng San Group Representation Constituency from 1980 to 1996.