Two Judicial Commissioners of High Court appointed

President Tony Tan Keng Yam appointed Mr George Wei Sze Shun and Mr Edmund Leow as Judicial Commisioners of the High Court with effect from Aug 1 and Oct 1 respectively this year. They will each serve a one-year term.

Get the full story from The Straits Times.

Here is the full statement from the Prime Minister's Office:

The President of the Republic of Singapore, acting in his discretion, and in concurrence with the advice of the Prime Minister will appoint Mr George Wei Sze Shun and Mr Edmund Leow as Judicial Commissioners of the High Court under Article 94(4) of the Constitution for a term of one year with effect from 1 August 2013 and 1 October 2013 respectively.

Mr George Wei, who is an expert in intellectual property law in Singapore, was a Professor at the Singapore Management University (SMU). He obtained his Diploma in Law from the School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London, and later his Masters in Law, from the University College London.

Mr Edmund Leow, who specialises in tax and corporate law, is the Managing Principal of the law firm Baker & McKenzie. He obtained a Bachelor of Arts in Law (First Class Honours) from Cambridge University.

With the appointments of Mr George Wei and Mr Edmund Leow, the Supreme Court will have a total of 15 Judges (including the Chief Justice) and three Judicial Commissioners.