S'pore are Carl Schubert champions for 2012

S'pore are Carl Schubert champions for 2012

SINGAPORE - Singapore beat Malaysia to claim the 2012 Carl Schubert Trophy at the Kinrara Oval in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday. The first match (Twenty20) was tied and the second, a 50-over match, was abandoned because of rain.

On Wednesday, in the third match (50 overs) Singapore won by 144 runs. The countries resume battle for the 2013 crown on Friday in a three-day match. On Wednesday, Singapore, electing to bat, scored 250 for six, with opener Arjun Mutreja topscoring with 96, skipper Rezza Gaznavi making 49 runs and Anish Paraam 38.

Arjun and Rezza came together at 67-1 in the 17th over and in the next 16.5 overs they added 92 runs for the third wicket.

Malaysia were skittled out for 106 in 32.3 overs, Yousul Alam taking 3-19.


Get The New Paper for more stories.

This website is best viewed using the latest versions of web browsers.